Euroquiz Final - We have a winner!

Euroquiz Final - We have a winner!

The team from Comely Park Primay School (Falkirk) were crowned Euroquiz Champions 2017

Congratulations to the P6 team from Comely Park Primary School, who won the Scottish European Educational Trust’s National Euroquiz Final 2017, which took place in the Debating Chamber of the Scottish Parliament on 15th May 2017.

Team members Tamsin Gold, Edwin Walker, Robyn Dewar-Young and Jaymie Jones were crowned SEET’s Euroquiz Champions 2017 at the national final. The winners were closely followed by St Leonard’s Primary School team from South Lanarkshire, in a nail-biting final round. Sciennes Primary School from Edinburgh also did incredibly well, winning the prize for third place.

Euroquiz is run by the Scottish European Educational Trust, a non-political charity, which promotes education about language learning, Europe and the wider world amongst Scotland’s young people. Over 470 schools from across Scotland took part in Euroquiz Heats from January to March, involving over 2,000 pupils in the first stage of the project. The winning teams from each of the 31 participating Local Authority areas attended the national final at the Scottish Parliament, all hoping to raise the trophy as winners. Each team demonstrated an impressive level of knowledge about European countries, history, culture, and current affairs.

All participants were a credit to their schools and worked extremely well together in their teams. The finalists were put through their paces by quizmaster Deputy Presiding Officer Christine Grahame MSP and Head of the Office of the European Commission in Scotland, Graham Blythe, who read out the answers. Euroquiz is a unique experience and an excellent opportunity for the development of team building, confidence building and language skills. The knowledge and understanding of Europe and the wider world shown by all participating pupils yesterday was incredibly impressive, and was matched only by their sense of fair play and mutual respect. Well done to everyone who took part in Euroquiz 2017!

John Swinney MSP, and Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills, said:
“Scotland believes in internationalism and we want Scotland to be as well connected as possible to the rest of Europe and the world so we can work well with other nations and contribute to the success of our global community.
The Euroquiz is a fantastic opportunity for you to learn more about, and celebrate, the wonderfully rich and diverse cultures, history, geography, current affairs and languages of our fellow Europeans. Language learning is exciting and can support learning about others and the development of active global citizens. That is why we are so committed to ensuring that language learning throughout school is normal for all our young people.
Congratulations to everyone who has participated in this year’s Euroquiz and in particular to those of you who have reached the National Final here at the Scottish Parliament.”

You can watch the full event via the links below:

Participating schools included:

Albyn School, Aberdeen City
Alloway Primary School, South Ayrshire
Bonnyrigg Primary School, Midlothian
Cairneyhill Primary School, Fife
Comely Park Primary School, Falkirk
Crown Primary School, Highland
Forthill Primary School, Dundee
Hermitage Primary School, Argyll & Bute
Lenzie Meadow Primary, East Dunbartonshire
Loretto Junior School, East Lothian
Low Port Primary School, West Lothian
Melrose Primary School, Scottish Borders
Mill O’ Forest primary school, Aberdeenshire
Nether Robertland primary School, East Ayrshire
Newington Primary School, Dumfries & Galloway
Our Lady & St. Francis Primary School, North Lanarkshire
Sciennes Primary School, City of Edinburgh
Sgoil an Rubha, Western Isles
Springhill and Auchenback Primary, East Renfrewshire
St Catherine’s Primary School, Renfrewshire
St Denis’ Primary, Glasgow
St Dominic’s R.C.P.S., Perth & Kinross
St Leonard’s Primary, South Lanarkshire
St Mary’s (Duntocher), West Dunbartonshire
St Sylvester’s Primary, Moray
Strathblane Primary, Stirling
Strathdevon Primary School, Clackmannanshire
Tingwall Primary, Shetland
West Kilbride Primary School, North Ayrshire
Whinhill Primary School, Inverclyde
Whitehills Primary School, Angus


What's on...

April 2020


Events on 27 April 2020

Our World Film Premiere